Then the noise stopped by Jamie-Leigh Jones

I needed it to stop, but it wouldn’t. Repetitive ticking, which I thought was fading away, got much louder making me feel like my head was going to explode. My head was hurting. My hands were pressed tight against my ears, and then the noise stopped. Where had it gone? I went down to the basement to see if it had been coming from there but it wasn’t. I went upstairs to my room. That was strange, my room was clean! My clothes had been picked up, my books had been put back and my bed was made. And there it was. The cause of the ticking…

3 thoughts on “Then the noise stopped by Jamie-Leigh Jones

  1. Thank you for your entry Jamie-Leigh.
    Your description of the effect the noise was having on you really made me interested in finding out what was causing the noise . It was a good (but a little cruel) idea to leave the reader wondering about the cause of the ticking!
    Mr Ball (Team 100WC)

    • Even though its is slightly cruel I like leaving cliffhangers because it draws he reader in like you said but it lets the reader think for themselves letting their imagination run wild.
      PS: Have you looked at other work on this blog,every piece is amazing.

  2. This is a very confident and intriguing piece of writing, Jamie-Leigh, I definitely want to know what happens next, what *is* the cause of the ticking. Have you decided, or are you just drawing the reader in first? From an e-safety point of view, remember not to add your surname to your posts.

Leave a comment